Sweet Dreams

Bempton 075

The one thing that’s guaranteed to send me to sleep is a relaxing bath-time aromatherapy extravaganza!  I trained in clinical aromatherapy, so have more than a passing interest in the properties of essential oils, but it has to be said, I do love a good pampering session! These are some of my favourite products.

DSCF1202

Aromatherapy Associates De-Stress Mind & Body Oil

I’m a huge fan of this Aromatherapy Associates  especially after hearing its founder Geraldine Howard speak so powerfully at a conference for the International Federation of Aromatherapists. A few drops of this in the bath and you’re in for a real sensory experience.  It contains soothing camomile, petitgrain which is a nerve tonic, and frankincense which acts as a sedative.  Surprisingly, it also contains rosemary, which is a stimulant, but in this blend, it acts to clear the mind.  Just what you need for a great night’s sleep.

Neal’s Yard Remedies Wild Rose Beauty Balm

Rose is the most feminine and balancing of all essential oils and is by far my favourite. I massage this balm into my face before I get in the bath then let the steam do its work.  I  take it off with a flannel and my skin feels beautifully revived.

Therapie Joie Uplifting Bath Infusion

This sandy saviour make your bath look like the car after a Saharan storm, but as long as you don’t mind giving the bath a wipe down afterwards, then it really does deliver on the relaxation front.  It contains the sedatives frankincense and cedarwood, both of which are used in meditation so the hot  steamy bathroom takes on a real exotic spa feel.  The black glass jar is super stylish too and looks great in the bathroom.

Neom Organics ‘Complete Bliss’ Moroccan Blush Rose, Lime and Black Pepper Candle

I’m easily seduced by rose and no relaxing bath is complete without a candle.  It takes a few minutes to really get the aroma going so I light it in the bedroom while I potter about getting ready for my bath and afterwards the whole upstairs smells amazing – like the spa of a swish hotel.

DSCF1209

All you need now is music and my favourite is Mantras From Tibet.

Sweet Dreams!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment